VIDEO: James Blackman gets crushed, no targeting call

Florida State fought off Duke to win 17-10. However, the victory didn’t come without a few questionable calls as well as what the officials didn’t call. Junior running back Jacques Patrick made a tackle on special teams that appeared to be helmet to helmet due to the Duke player stumbling forward and putting his head down. The booth called for a replay, indicating that the hit was targeting. Patrick’s tackle was promptly reviewed where it was determined that the play wasn’t targeting due to the stumbling Blue Devil. The announcer of the game then went on a tirade about how it was clearly targeting and that Patrick should be ejected. He continued to make references to the play for a while afterward.

Later in the game, FSU freshman quarterback James Blackman released a pass downfield only to be immediately drilled by Duke’s Mike Ramsay. The hit appeared to be directly to Blackman’s head with Ramsay’s helmet, which by rule, should result in a targeting penalty. This time the announcer didn’t utter a single word. Pretty fair commentating there. Check out the hit below. Should this have been a targeting call?

Check out the hit below and decide for yourself. Should this have been a targeting call?

Dustin Lewis

Lead writer for NoleGameday. Majoring in English Editing, Writing, and Media at Florida State University. Writer for FSView Sports and Hashtag Basketball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *