FSU Baseball Earns National Seed in NCAA Tourney

Haylee Blitch/NoleGameDay

After an impressive 11-8 comeback win against the No.6 seed Louisville Cardinals in a ten-inning frenzy for the ACC Tournament Title, the Seminoles won their eighth conference thanks to a go ahead 2-run double by third baseman Drew Mendoza in the top of the tenth inning.

Sunday evening’s victory notched the Seminoles their 3rd ACC Title in a four-year span and became the second team in ACC history to repeat as tournament champions since Wake Forest did so in the 1998-99 campaigns.

Junior catcher Cal Raleigh joined Jackson Lueck as the 2nd ‘Nole in as many years to win tournament MVP as he batted .333 with six hits, four of which were for extra bases, and tallied six RBI’s in four games.

Drew Mendoza, Jackson Lueck, and Drew Parrish were also named to the 2018 ACC All Tournament Team as FSU led all teams in doing so, followed closely by Clemson with three players in total.

By doing so, Florida State yielded a birth to the NCAA tournament as they earned the seventh overall national seed and are set to host Mississippi State, the Oklahoma Sooners, and the Samford Bulldogs in the Tallahassee Regional.

This year’s postseason appearance adds to Seminole’s current streak of 41 consecutive seasons of post season play, which stands as the longest active streak in collegiate baseball. To add to that, Florida State became a top-eight seed for the 11th time in school history which also stands as the most in NCAA Division One Baseball history.

The Seminoles are set to face off against the No. 4 Samford Bulldogs at 7 p.m. following game one of the Tallahassee regional between No.2 Mississippi State and No. 3 Oklahoma in Dick Howser Stadium.


Leave a Reply