ACC announces 2020 football schedule

After weeks of waiting on an official announcement, the ACC has finally answered the call. Following the lead of the B1G 10, the ACC will play ten games plus one non-conference game, likely preserving Florida State vs Florida, in 2020 with the first games being held between Sep. 7-12.

That means the Seminoles schedule has had some modifications. FSU will now play home games against Clemson, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Pittsburgh, and Virginia. The ‘Noles will travel to Duke, Louisville, Miami, NC State, and Notre Dame.

Read more:

With the changes to the schedule, non-conference games against West Virginia, Samford, and Boise State will not be played. It’s expected that FSU will still match up with the Gators as long as the SEC announces something similar.

While it was expected that the ACC would likely move to conference games only, this is a major alteration to Florida State’s schedule. Outside of losing the three non-conference games, they also won’t play Wake Forest, Boston College, or Syracuse. That’s six games from the 2020 schedule that will be totally different.

The conference is moving to one division in 2020 and Notre Dame will also be eligible to compete for the ACC Championship. The 11 games will be played over 13 weeks, with each team receiving two BYEs.

Powered by RedCircle

The coaching staff is going to have to start making preparations and adaptations swiftly with five new opponents in the fold.

Leave a Reply